Update Four | (IMPORTANT TO KNOW) I Tried to Contact Bishoujo’s Author

So, here is the update.

On Friday the twenty-second, I pretty much finished all my translation work for chapter twenty-seven. And by pretty much, I mean like some untranslated lines, a few unsure, a couple of ‘make sure you really review over’, etc. left. All translators have these at the end of the day. However, with the translations, 3 out of the 4 untranslated lines I had were illegible. For people who read Japanese and just come here for the ease of reading, I’ll offer these lines for a better understanding of what I mean;

「ら、らからっへっへいっひゃろりぃ……あぅぅ」

「あ、あろれ、ひひましゃんろまえれ、うもうとひへはんらよ? れもひゃいみんきゅらのらひひゃっへれ? らっへひひはひゃんらいひらり――

「らっへ、らっへ、ひひはひゃんら、ららひくしへふへふんらおん。うえひふって……

Usually, when I can’t translate a line despite all my research on the internet, I go to my translator friends to get a better understanding. Specifically, I went to Este. I asked and of course gave him the most context I could offer, as well as including the chapter link, but with Kijima-san, the MC in the story, claiming that Satonaka’s speech is something he can’t even understand, and then has to GUESS what it means, I don’t know what I was expecting. He tried his best, but alas, he couldn’t completely help me.

Looking back at it now, I don’t know why it bugged me so much. I mean, it’s not that important if the MC claimed so, too. I bet even a native speaker who read that chapter didn’t even understand what was being spoken. Nevertheless, it bugged me. It bugged me to the point of doing something that I perhaps didn’t prepare myself fully for. I contacted the author in the quest of getting a readable line.

I know what you’re thinking, why do that when I never asked him for permission? And by permission, I mean as a curtsy. It is always nice to ask an author to make sure you acknowledge him in terms of his or her content, even if you don’t think an erotic author should be given that much credit (I do, naturally…despite not doing that action beforehand.)  Although I really did want to ask him to say I enjoy his story to the point of wanting to share it with everyone, but I never had the time or way to do so.

Now, you may be thinking this as an excuse. Ha! I ain’t that shameless to hide behind a flimsy excuse such as that. I legit do have reasons.

One, I was nervous. Okay, not a really sturdy explanation, I know! But you gotta realize, Bishoujo was my first translation. I was pretty bad back then in terms of my quality, and if you want proof, compare my recent chapter to my first one. See a huge difference (I need to fix that soon…)? I didn’t want the author to see that being done to his series, not to mention me just starting and never really contacted an author before…So anyways, I let myself slide in terms of contacting him.

Two, even if I WASN’T nervous, it would be quite hard to talk to him.  You see in syosetu, you have an option of making an ‘x’ account. With this ‘x’ account, you can like, share, or even post novels for the erotic section of male and or women, while also keeping your main account hidden if you wish for such.  However, the drag of this function is that I don’t believe you can message people with their ‘x’ account. I’ve looked through the message Q&A on the site and couldn’t find a way (I might have missed something, but I tried everything, so.) Anyway, since the author of Bishoujo doesn’t have his main account on his ‘x’, I couldn’t message him normally.

With those two points, I didn’t bother and was just continuing on with the author most likely not being aware of my translations. I wasn’t proud, but at that moment I felt I could do nothing. But, then I had my motivation to actually try. It was the slurred lines.

I wrote my message, had Este’s contact that checks his messages he sends to authors see over mine, and then was ready to send it in. My message was simple: I stated who I was, what I did, apologized for how late this notice was, asked permission as a courtesy, asked about the lines, and then stated how much you guys loved the series. 

Now, didn’t I just say I had no way of contacting him? Well, technically I did, but I stated that I couldn’t message him NORMALLY. I did what I now claim as a douche move, and posted it via the comments on an update post that said his new chapter would be late due to a sudden, massive snowstorm. I know, not very smart of me. But I was nervous and I just wanted it over with; I was so jittery that I forgot to add a 無理しないで or Don’t overwork yourself. Well, maybe a more polite way to say that, but that doesn’t really matter!

Anyways, I basically got called out by like four people after I went to bed and woke up. As you assumed, I was said as insensitive…I can understand that. But, people were also saying that I was performing copyright infringement. I got scared for a bit because maybe I missed something pretty big such as a licensing or what not. I asked Joe, since he knows a lot more than me. Basically, he stated that the author should be the only one who can perform a DMCA (A notice for me take down the content that’s being claimed unfair usage, due to it being a problem towards the owner of the content by money loss). 

Now, from the comments I read (I wished I could show you, but didn’t snapshot them) they were claiming I was performing copyright infringement due to the VISUAL NOVEL. I don’t know what sparked this idea, but I highly doubt Seacoxx owns all the rights to the story, not to mention the fact it’s a totally different medium. Plus, I ain’t taking their income even if they did, since the web novel is still out for the public and I’m basically just an English provider. 

Now, what I really was concerned about, and still kinda am right now, is the author filing DMCA, because I know he pretty much has full ground to do so. However, as I was worrying, I realized the update post I commented on was deleted. I guess the author did that in order to stop the comments being filed against me? Otherwise, it was due to not wanting trouble. Either way, that’s gone. I also haven’t gotten a reply from him since (I left my main account on my ‘x’ one so he could message me back privately), so I assume he has either ignored me completely or is planning his next move…

The author seems like a pretty chill and nice dude by his updates and pretty imaginative in terms of his writing. But, I can’t make assumptions when I was appearing like a jerk and also bringing attention away from his time of understanding to my selfish matter.

I simply wanted this to be let know, so if anything does happen in the future, you know why. So do I classify this as bad news or uncertainty news? I mean, it’s a mixture of both…but I guess uncertainty is big dipper here.

TL;DR

Legit anything I say in one sentence will make you ask questions. Just read it all, it is necessary, I swear.

27 thoughts on “Update Four | (IMPORTANT TO KNOW) I Tried to Contact Bishoujo’s Author

    1. Everything I have translated and edited is in a google drive, so no need to worry about that. But, if the author did file DMCA, I will respect his wishes.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. by respecting your wishes do you mean you will also delete those backups in the google drive, or will you like share them a bit before doing that? It’s such a shame for an enjoyable translation to disappear just like that… but then again, if that’s how it is, I (and I hope most others here) will respect your wish

        Like

      2. @Kasinki By respecting his wishes, I mean deleting everything I have. Of course, the chapters I have will most likely still be on the internet. Unless someone files an email to google about deleting a dead link, I’m pretty sure you could still be able to read them if that day ever comes.

        Like

  1. Unless (or even if) author get a publishing deal, reduce exposure like firing an DMCA at unofficial translation like that is bad move, business-wise. The difficulty is attracting interests from potential readers in the 1st place.

    But Japanese has their own way doing things so~

    Like

    1. I don’t think Japan cares much about oversea buyers. Sure, fakku is exactly that with hentai and what not. Also some normal manga and light novels have been sold here, but the Japanese companies aren’t the ones doing that, it’s the companies that licensed the work for English.

      Like

  2. I don’t think the author would mind that much, and I highly doubt he plan to pursue this: Japanese people in general try to avoid unnecessary trouble and paranoid peoples, unless highly pressure he will not move.

    Like

  3. You did what a any fan would do, screw up due to being nervous. If he ever takes the initiative to contact you again just apologize and blame it on your nerves.

    Like

  4. Mad respect for going to such lenghts just because of 3 or 4 lines that you couldn’t translate properly. And thank you for it. Other translators would just straight up say “fuck it” and write whatever they felt was close to the original meaning without second thought. I’m currently reading a certain manga with a certain translator group that do that and it’s pretty frustrating, which also makes me respect much more your efforts to do a good translation.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you’re grateful. I really do try my best to give you guys the most accurate translations, while at the same time making sure I understand the language more myself.

      Like

  5. Oh well. You tried though, that counts haha
    And i think sincerely expressing yourself online is really hard, much more in a foreign langauge. You did your best!

    Like

  6. From my POV, you’re making a bit of a mountain out of a molehill.

    Unfortunately, there were a lot of people who didn’t like what you were doing on that site. It’s a site for people to create and post their own stories, so the hostile response you got is kind of, “as expected.”

    In the end though, you have to keep in mind that though you’re creating something yourself when you “translate” (quotes because translation is just as personal and creative a process as writing), what you translated was ultimately not your idea or brainchild to begin with. If you accept that people can own ideas, then you’ll notice that you built your castle on sand.

    Until they decide to release to an international audience, DMCA’ing your stuff is kind of dumb for exposure purposes, but in the end, if they do, then it’s their loss. There’s a ton of free stuff on the internet (and R18-rated) anyway, so it’s not like the end of the world for most readers.

    My point is, I feel like after you calm down a bit you’ll notice that nothing much has changed, we still appreciate your hard work, and the author could have found you at any time before this anyway, if they did some simple internet searching and cared enough to.

    Like

    1. Late reply, derp!

      I appreciate what you said! To be honest, I calmed down before I posted this update, and if it seemed like I was frantic on this post, then times that by 5x. But either way, this update is suppose to state what happen, and not really blow it out of portion. I only stated the possibility of a DMCA, because I wanted to acknowledge to my readers this may as well happen, so prepare for the worst.

      And by the ‘expected’, I guess I didn’t consider it like that. I thought they would ignore it at most, but being sort of ganged up on while I was off guard gave me a bit of a freak episode. Thank goodness I have contacts who calmed me down by facts and what not. I also got you guys supporting me, even though I was at the time and still am okay.

      I still haven’t got a message by the author, so I guess he ignored it or is letting me be. Either way, I still feel embarrassed of what I did, and that will never go away until I get his personal,”It’s fine!” But, other then that I’m fine about the translating. I won’t stop until the author himself ask me to.

      Like

      1. I can’t seem to find a way to email you, so I also have to resort to posting here. I was wondering if you were looking for help with translating this series. If so, you can reach me via gmail at yuu.oniihan

        Like

  7. I’ve more or less figured out how to read those lines, but I’m having trouble narrowing down the possibilities and thus the actual translation. Also, having trouble with those “he” and “tsu,” I can’t tell whether they’re pronunciation modifiers or read characters.
    It would appear that her tongue is extremely tired and thus she has trouble pronouncing some consonants. Try thinking what you could say that would sound something like that if the tip of your tongue was stuck to the floor of your mouth.

    I think something very interesting might have been said in that second line.

    Native speakers would probably be able to read it just fine if they gave it just a bit of thought. I think it only seems so difficult for us because Japanese is at best our second language and thus we tend to overthink things and forget some vocabulary (or vise-versa).

    Like

  8. You made a few mistakes with not contacting author promptly, that’s ok, plus you already are going to try respect the authors wishes right? So In my opinion your already smoothly sailing now and even now whatever may be will be. Wait and see! Wait and see what the genius of an author of one of my favorite hentai will say.

    Like

Leave a comment